Modern Standards Supergroup

Cosmopolite Scene
Sunday 10. March 2024
The doors open at 19:00
Concert starts at 20:00
Ticket price
450/400,- +avg
Age limit
18 years with valid ID
Spotify playlist

Modern Standards Supergroup

Niels Lan Doky – piano
Ernie Watts – 
Darryl Jones – bass (The Rolling Stones)
Harvey Mason – 
drums (Aretha Franklin)

The jazz ensemble aims to revitalize jazz and increase the genre's relevance by interpreting hits from modern music history through a jazz lens.

The project is led by pianist and producer Niels Lan Doky, who has been called "the best pianist of his generation" and has been knighted by Queen Margrethe of Denmark.

The band, formerly known as Jazz/Takes Supergroup, is now named Modern Standards Supergroup – to match the title of their first album release "Modern Standards," which came out in May! The album is the first official release of material Lan Doky has been working on for years.

Modern Standards Supergroup consists of four well-established jazz musicians embarking on a musical journey based on one of Niels Lan Doky's international jazz collective's most successful concepts. The ensemble offers refreshed and new types of jazz experiences with leaps in quality, substance, class, and dignity.

Their mission is clear, and the group has brought forth the saying "Those who stand on the shoulders of their forefathers stand the firmest" to demonstrate their respect for jazz legends and the tradition they are rooted in.

The supergroup takes on modern pop icons such as Nirvana, Seal, Soundgarden, and Patti Smith, seamlessly blending these with a few originals as well as classics by Miles Davis.